Twelve months ago today, I flew into the beautiful, bustling, and chaotic city of Phnom Penh and I totally fell in love with it! Here are a few snapshots of my week there.

046

First impressions were traffic chaos and tuk tuk’s for hire any time, any place.

Motorcycles for the whole family… “I’ll put a toddler on my lap and you let another one stand on the back of your seat. He can hang onto your shoulders while I weave through the dusty, pothole ridden roads.  Hang on kids!”

174

Check out the wiring!

038

Very quickly I found the FCC.  The most relaxing drinking hole ever, where cocktails were cheap, Happy Hour went for two hours and it had the best view in town of the passing parade on the Tonle Sap River.

214

Did I mention that beer was cheaper than water and Happy Hour lasted for two hours?  Totally awesome dude!

143

The Royal Palace and Silver Pagoda were simply exquisite!   I thoroughly enjoyed exploring the many buildings and beautifully manicured gardens.

084

The Dancing Hall; imagine dancing here by the moonlight, under fairy lights in your favourite princess dress…heaven!

101

If the climb up the naga stairs to the top of Wat Phnom doesn’t impress you, the magical sounds and incense aromas inside the main temple of worship will. Simply mesmerizing…

015

No visit to Phnom Penh is complete unless you visit the Killing Fields of Choeung Ek.  It is important to be educated about the violent atrocities that occurred here at the hands of the Khmer Rouge.

028

Similarly, one must also visit S21 – Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum. This was a former school that became a prison and torture headquarters for the Khmer Rouge.

Both of these sites are sad and confronting and both will enrich your soul with compassion and understanding for the Cambodian people.

Phnom Penh, I would visit you again in a heart beat. Xx.

