Autumn of 2015 saw us visiting New York for three weeks and it included a three day trip up to see Niagara Falls.  Was it worth it? You betcha!

We flew from JFK to Buffalo with Jetblue and from the airport, we caught two buses. The first was to the Buffalo city terminal and then from there, we caught a second bus to the Rainbow Bridge in Niagara Falls.  The buses gave us the added bonus of a great sight-seeing trip of the area.

15 OCT 2 (17)

As I walked across the Rainbow Bridge, I kept my eyes forward until I got to the middle. I then turned hard left for my first view and….wow!  Here’s what I saw; spectacular!

To the left of the photo is the Observation Tower, American & Bridal Veil Falls (USA) and to the centre of the photo, in the distance, is the Horseshoe Falls (Canada).

We continued across the bridge and passed through the Canadian passport control.

15 OCT 2 (29)

Yay!  I’m in Canada!  (Behind me is the Rainbow Bridge that I just walked across)

15 OCT 2 (34)

From here, we took a leisurely stroll along the waterfront with a view across to the American Falls and the Bridal Veil Falls.

15 OCT 2 (41)

Below we could see the ‘Hornblower’ cruise terminal and it looked very inviting.  In fact, it was so inviting, we made our way down, bought tickets and joined the next cruise…still with our back packs on!

DSC_0100

The Hornblower Cruise was great value for money offering a terrific up close and personal experience with the falls.  I don’t know why they bothered handing out complimentary ponchos, because regardless of them, we ended up horrendously soaked from the mist spray!

15 OCT 2 (71)

After the cruise we continued walking along the waterfront.  This is the ‘Maid of the Mist’ boat cruising past the Horseshoe Falls.

15 OCT 2 (75)

When we came abreast with the top of the Horseshoe Falls, I was completely mesmerized by sheer velocity and force of the water flow.  I could have easily jumped in!

Btw, this photo is not zoomed in. It was taken from where I was standing at the handrail and gives you an indication of just how easy it is to indeed jump in.

DSC_0163

We checked into the Embassy Suites Hotel and I put my feet up and enjoyed the view from our hotel room.  Not bad hey?!

DSC_0323

A little sofa move to the left, and voila! The Horseshoe Falls complete with a gorgeous rainbow. At this point I realized how the Rainbow Bridge got its name; the mist from the falls creates rainbows! 🙂

DSC_0346a

Sunrise from our hotel window.  Sigh…magical!

DSC_0171

And from the restaurant whilst eating breakfast…Heavenly!

