DSC_0317

The Queen Victoria Building, affectionately known as the ‘QVB’, is a delightfully charming building in the heart of Sydney’s CBD.

As the building is positively huge, it is easy to spot on approach from any direction and it’s just perfect for an afternoon meander.

DSC_0378

DSC_0348

There are several levels of shops to give your wallet a serious work out and for the budget conscious visitor, you’ll still be happy just window shopping!

DSC_0360
“Hello Miranda!”

DSC_0362

Haigh’s…oh my, such delicious chocolate! The shop is currently set up for Easter in gorgeous colours with trendy packaging.

DSC_0350

The QVB was completed in 1898, and oozes charming architecture and heavenly stained glass windows.

DSC_0351

DSC_0356

DSC_0334

The central dome is absolutely magnificent and is viewable from all levels.

DSC_0336

Below the dome is an interesting spiral staircase.  I wonder what’s behind the little door at the top?

Of a great sense of amusement to me was, that despite the lower door of the staircase having a huge padlock on it, passerbys constantly tried to get in!

DSC_0344

On the same level as the spiral staircase, is a curious letter from the Queen. (Mounted on the wall on left hand-side of this photograph)

DSC_0338

It instructs the Lord Mayor of Sydney to open an envelope and to read the Queen’s message to the citizens of Sydney in, wait for it, 2085!  So, I guess I won’t be around for that!

DSC_0366

I saw an inviting stairwell and went for a wander. I knocked to see if anyone was home at number 417; there was no reply 😦  Perhaps a limbo dancer lives within?

DSC_0356

As I left the QVB, I glanced back for one last photo and smiled at how grand the building looks set amongst its modern day neighbours 🙂

