DSC_0135

Ailsa’s travel theme this week is ‘books’.  Here’s her link

As I thought about this week’s theme and the many books I have consumed over the years, a thought struck me.  Did I develop my love of travel and adventures from my childhood books?  Did these books influence my life?

I cast my mind back to the first children’s novel that was given to me as a youngster, ‘The Enchanted Wood’; written by the English author, Enid Blyton. This edition of mine was published in 1971.

DSC_0137

The book tells the tale of three children and how on moving to the country to live in a cottage, they find the Faraway Tree in the Enchanted Wood.  The tree is filled with wonderful characters that befriend the children and take them on adventures to the ever changing magical lands that are found at the top of the tree.

DSC_0129

A favourite illustration of mine; the children sit under an old oak tree to have their tea 🙂

I was totally captivated by this book and spent many school holidays climbing trees to see if there was anything interesting at the top! True story!

DSC_0157 (2)

A few years ago whilst staying at a beautiful thatched cottage in the woods in County Devon, I was reminded of the book.  I looked around for a magical tree and I laughed at the child in me for even thinking of it!

DSC_0163 (2) fairies

While I didn’t spot the magical Faraway Tree, I did notice this interesting one where I fancied some fairy folk may indeed live!

Books, books, books!  They educate us, they entertain us and they captivate our imagination 🙂 🙂 🙂

