Well, what can I say other than the ‘Sir Stamford at Circular Quay’ is simply quite dazzling!  I don’t believe I have ever seen so many crystal light fittings in one building before!

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying here during our recent visit to Sydney, and putting the crystal lights aside for one moment, the hotel also houses antiques, charming paintings and warm, comfy furnishings.

1 (3)

This is the reception desk.  After checking in, it took me a very long time to get to my room because there was so much to see along the way!

DSC_0247 (678x1024)

1 (4)

I had to walk through this room to get to the lift.  Isn’t it just divine?  I stopped for a chat with Morris (he was wearing a Sir Stamford name tag). His book was titled ‘The Crossbreed’.  In my opinion, it was an odd choice for a wombat…

1 (5)

1 (12)

After finally getting into the lift and arriving on my floor, I was met with another area of delightful curiosities to look at.  There is no such thing as a boring corner in this hotel!

1 (13)

1 (6)

1 (7)

Our room had a cosy, homey feel about it and contained everything we could wish for; from a well-stocked mini bar, to robes and slippers!

1 (10)

Our stylish marble bathroom was fitted with, wait for it, more crystal light fittings!  There was even one in the toilet!

1 (14)

We went downstairs to for an evening drink, passing more elegant paintings adorning the walls.

1 (15)

1 (16)

Apart from a offering a good selection of wines, ‘The Bar’ also offers meals and a traditional english-styled high tea.

17

The Bar also has its own outside entrance too.  So if you’re not a guest of the hotel, and you would like to pop in for a drink, you can enter through here.

This photo is a dead give away of what the building was prior to it becoming a hotel!

The Sir Stamford at Circular Quay, in Macquarie Street, is a short walk away from the Sydney Opera House and oozes old world charm.  I would not hesitate to stay here again, only next time I would stare less at the crystal lights…or wear my sunnies 🙂

